Low sugar baked beans – Recipe

I have been craving baked beans for weeks, a friend brought his very very sweet version to our reception picnic and while they great they were so sweet (he used pork and beans AND brown sugar I think) I was worried about eating more then a small scoop.

So I have been looking for a good low sugar recipe and most of them call for sugar free maple syrup, Agave Nectar or another sweetener that are usually a tad pricey as are Sugar free ketchup or Sugar free BBQ sauce, not to mention not so easy to find.

I found a few recipes I liked but some of them are just very complicated and I wanted one I could whip up the morning before a picnic and have done in about an hour of crock pot time.

SUPER EASY LOW SUGAR BAKED BEANS

ingredients:

3 cans of white beans (you can also sometimes find these in low sodium)

1 can of petite diced tomatoes (unless you want large chunks of tomatoes then go for regular diced)

one 3 to 4 oz can of tomato paste (the one I get has no sugar in the ingredients)

12 oz of bacon (one pack)

one onion fried (Or a 3 oz pack of french fried onions)

1 teaspoon garlic salt

2 tablespoons of white or cider vinegar

2 to 4 packets splenda

Directions:

I use a cookie sheet and foil or parchment to cook my bacon in the oven, using kitchen scissors slice the rasher of bacon into thin strips (this is the easiest way I have found)

scatter the bacon on the cookie sheet and cover loosely with foil or cooking parchment and bake at 350*F stirring every 5 mins and checking often.

open all 3 cans of beans and pour into a colander then rinse well to get extra salt, sugar and starch off of the beans

put the beans, the tomato paste and diced tomatoes into a 3.5 qt crock pot (any medium crock pot will work)

add the fried onions and stir

as soon as the bacon is done drain off half the fat and pour all the meat and remaining fat in the crock, the fat is not really enough to make a huge dent in calories but it makes a huge difference in flavor.

Stir the bean mixture well then sprinkle on the garlic salt to taste.

Now test the beans and if you think it needs it (for me they were very sweet at this point just because of the tomatoes) you can add a packet or two of splenda and some vinegar

Stir and let warm in the crock for 20 mins on high then taste again and see if it needs more of the last two ingredients

Cover and heat on high for an hour then lower the temp to low and let stand for the next few hours while you do other stuff.

The beans are edible as soon as you mix them up but they just become better as they cook longer.

3 Comments

Filed under protein, Recipes

3 responses to “Low sugar baked beans – Recipe

  1. Jessica

    THANK YOU!!!!!! This is the absolute best, soundest recipe for healthier baked beans I have found. I don’t like using “flavored” stuff (IE sugar free maple syrup… things like that scare me, like fat free mayo). I can’t wait to try this recipe this Memorial Day weekend! I LOVE baked beans, but you’re right, most every recipe I’ve ever made or ever had called for way too much sugar. What a waste of a great protein and fiber source! Thank you for posting. I will be sharing with my other whole-food lovers! BTW congrats on the weight loss! You look great and I’m sure feel great, too. My mom just recently lost over 80 lbs after struggling since having us in her 20s, so I know how hard it can be and how much strength it takes.

  2. Linda

    Hi there,
    Can’t wait to give these a try. I had surgery on 12/27/11 and I’m down 38 pounds since. You’re a true inspiration!

  3. Tim N

    Great, I want to eat more beans for the protein but don’t want the sugar.
    Congratulations on the slimming success.

Leave a Reply

