Tuna Melt Dip (my breakfast this morning)

This one is so simple I feel silly posting it but it really was a great breakfast snack

I made up a Tuna melt for Alex and had about 3 oz of the mix left over and so I put it in a 1 cup Pyrex dish and topped it with a broken up slice of cheese then put it in the toaster oven on medium toast (I let it sit for about 5 mins in the hot toaster oven but you dont have to)  I then ate it with a small handful of pork rinds (I keep a bag on hand for those desperate must crunch moments, a few go a long way) but it would also be good by itself or on thin bell pepper slices.

Tuna Melt Dip:

1 can of light solid or chunk tuna

1  Tablespoon Greek Yogurt

1 large spoonful of Miracle Whip

1 heaping tablespoon full of sweet relish (or dill if you prefer)

1/4 medium onion diced fine

dash of garlic salt and your favorite seasoning mix (mine is Montreal Chicken)

2 slices (1/4 cup shredded) medium soft cheese (I used real American cause I had a little of it but Colby or Monteray Jack would work, also mozzarella could work but it is a reeally mild taste – Cheddar doesn’t melt as well I find)

DIRECTIONS:

Mix everything except the cheese in a small Pyrex style bowl or ramekin seasoning to taste then break up the cheese slices and put on the top, use a spoon to push the cheese down into the dip a bit (if you use shredded you can mix it in the tuna mix but I prefer it on top)

Put the dish in the toaster oven and set the toast setting for medium dark (you can use the conventional oven on 300* for 8 mins but you need to preheat it or the microwave for 90 seconds but I dont think it tastes as good microwaved)

Once the cheese is melted and the tuna is warm through you can use this as a great high protein dip for veggies, whole wheat chips or even a few pork rinds.

 

1 Comment

Filed under protein, Recipes

One response to “Tuna Melt Dip (my breakfast this morning)

  1. i discovered this a little while ago also! My twist is that i sprinkled about 1 tbls of those canned french-fried onions (you know-the green bean casserole ones . . . .) on top with the cheese before i stick the ramekin under the broiler. Similar to the pork rinds I suppose (never had one)–i agree about needing a crunch.

Leave a Reply

