Cortisone shots and thoughts on pain

This morning I got cortisone shots in my knees and if you have never had them before I will answer your most likely question… yes they do hurt going in to the joint but it is the next 24-48 hours that hurt like hell.  You have a few oz of a gel pushed in between your already damaged and in my case swollen joints and it can take up to 2 days to be absorbed by the body and start the anti-inflammation work they do.  And YES they are worth it, worth every single minute of pain over the next few days so I can have 3 months of relief (sadly I can only get them every 4 months)

I had this in both knees today, but my knees are really badly damaged

As I was laying in bed tonight barely able to bend my knees or fully straiten them and wishing like hell I had something that could actually take the pain away I realized something, this is the level of pain I use to live with when I was so much heavier and slowly the pain has lessened as I lost 200 pounds.

That was the kind of pain I had very often when I was over 400 pounds and as I got up over 440 (maxed out at 463) I was at this level of pain everyday and I while learned to deal with it ok it really drove me pretty crazy, it messed with my head and changed me a lot. Chronic pain eats at you and makes your days hard and your nights hellish.

I am not use to that pain anymore now that I have lost 200 pounds, there are days it hurts, hell weeks when it aches enough to make me exhausted cause I can’t sleep all that well but other than the 2 days after a cortisone shot treatment or the hour or so after I wrench it once in a while my knees never hurt this badly.

There are times I hate the limitations I have now after surgery, and a big part of me misses the days where I did not worry about my weight much (which explains how I got so big)and when I modeled and when I was strangely comfortable in my body most of the time but you know what? I would not change having my surgery for anything, it has given me so much and I am determined to make it work, lose the weight to get the knee replacement (a totally different kind of serious pain but worth it) and to keep it off… some how I will make it work.

1 Comment

Filed under Accountability, Arthritis and health issues, goals, links, Motivation, pain

One response to “Cortisone shots and thoughts on pain

  1. Sharon

    Hi, very well done on your weight loss; you look amazing! I had cortisone injections in my knees today, so I’m hoping it will eventually help with the pain & give me some mobility back. I wish you the very best for the future.
    Sharon (UK) x

Leave a Reply

