Cream of mushroom sauce/soup

I am very allergic to msg and all of the thick canned mushroom soups I have looked at have lots of it and the natural ones are pricey and I don’t enjoy the taste of them.  When I saw mushrooms on sale today for $0.98 a pound I decided to make my own sauce my own way.

crimini mushrooms nutritional information

I bought a pound of the fresh crimini mushrooms and sliced them into my 2.5qt crockpot

image

and in a large sauce pan I added 1/3 a stick of butter and thinnly sliced up 2 medium onions, 1 sweet and 1 yellow though you could easily do all one or the other and adjust the amount of onion to taste.  I added a teaspoon of diced garlic, about 4 medium cloves and sauteed them for 10 mins on med

I then added a 12oz can of no msg chicken broth and two cans of water along with some ‘Better than bullion’ veggie base

image

I simmered the broth and onions for 10 mins on Med high and then poured the hot mixture over the mushrooms

image

I then cooked it in the crockpot for 90 minutes on low.

image

To this I added 2/3 cup Ricotta cheese and 2.5 oz of cream cheese (you cab use low fat versions) and allowed it to melt into the mushrooms.

image

I then used a 12 oz can of regular condensed milk and 4 oz oz cold water to liquify 4 tablespoons of cornstarch.

image

image

I thickened the cornstarch mix in a small sauce pan over Med heat and then added a cup of the hot broth and stirred it smooth.  This I added to the mushrooms and then since cheese is one of my major sources of protein I added 2/3 of a cup of cheddar jack shredded cheese to it.

image

The soup came out amazing and I was able to store 2 qts of it and still have about a cup to eat.
Tomorrow I am buying 2 pounds of the mushrooms and making a thicker sauce by reducing the broth from 32 oz to 24 and doubling the ricotta and the cornstarch. I will try to add photos of the sauce then.

1 Comment

Filed under protein, Recipes, WLS

One response to “Cream of mushroom sauce/soup

  1. Looks amazing! I love mushrooms!

Leave a Reply

