treat yourself…DIY Spa time #1

What do you do to celebrate things in your life?
I have always celebrated everything in my life with food, every holiday, birthday as well as every small success was an excuse for goodies and yummy usually bad for me food.  This really has made no sense when I do it to celebrate losing weight, I have finally broken the 240 mark enough to think it might last a while after yoyoing up and down from 237 to 243 for 5 weeks and I am 234 now so really it makes no sense for me to go out an have a piece of cake like I am sadly tempted to.
I am trying to break this habit as much as I can and shake things up by treating myself in different ways.  Since I can’t afford to shop often to buy some of the great things I would love to treat myself with I am coming up with treats that I can do cheaply or for pretty much free.
So today’s treat is an AVOCADO HAIR MASK

(note my hair is just past shoulder length so if yours is longer you may need to double the recipe)
Ingredients:
1/2 of a very ripe medium avocado
1 1/2 Tbs coconut oil
1 tsp jojoba oil

Directions:
Mash the avocado in a microwave safe bowl and add the coconut oil then microwave for 30 seconds
Add the Jojoba oil and blend very well… add a few drops of water if it is too thick

sitting over the bathtub begin to work the mixture into your hair and massage it into your scalp.  Cover your hair with a disposable plastic shower cap or large produce bag and wrap in a towel.
Leave on your hair for between 20 and 50 mins and rinse well then using a mild shampoo wash your hair and condition as normal.

Note: if you have any of the mix left over feel free to use it on your skin and rinse right off, it feels lovely.

What are some of the ways you treat yourself?  Any home spa day hints or just suggestions about ways to celebrate your small victories in life

Leave a comment

Filed under changing how I think, DIY Spa Treatment, Treat Yourself

Leave a Reply

