SIGH..I dont miss my old body but I sure do miss my old clothes

Tonight I went through my remaining clothes to find out what still fit (even if it is baggy but not falling off) and to find out what could be altered (shirts into dresses and material from dresses and skirts to be used in other outfits) and sorted out my sweaters into a drawer…without the stuff to be taken apart and sewn into about 6 items I now have 2 drawers of clothes (one is all sweaters) and two small drawers of under and night things as well as half a dozen items in my closet, mostly all second hand black dress shirts and my wedding dress.

As I sorted stuff I loaded up an entire bin with all my heavy velvet dresses that have been as altered as they can be and stuck it in the back of my nearly empty closet so that I can make a quilt out of the material someday.
I threw away the last of my thin velvety dresses (I use to have 7 of them, now the last two were not even worth saving the material as they were 15 yrs old and I hated doing it but they had been altered within an inch of their lives) and gathered up the few really big things I have still worth donating in that they have not been altered to death and boxed them up. I have already donated or given bags upon bags of clothing to charity and friends so there is only one liquor box full of stuff

I am thrilled that I have lost so much and that I wear a size Lg-2x instead of a 4-6X but I had been a 4-5X for over 12 years (a few 6X items fit in the last year before surgery) and I had spent a lot of that time accumulating clothes.  3 years ago I had an entire walk in closet full to over flowing with clothing including some great Gothic gowns and outfits and a 6 drawer dresser packed to the brim with clothing and a large suitcase full of seasonal stuff.
When Alex moved in I had started to lose weight and already had given a 13 gallon garbage bag of clothing away and put some of my stuff away to make room for his clothing, it was hard to find a handful of hangers for his few hanging items and yet now the floor of the closet is full of empty hangers and he has almost as many hanging clothes as do.
I am just slightly frustrated, I am still large enough (mostly 1-2X) that finding decent used clothing is pretty hard and even new things are often not in my size, the really large stuff like JMS sells out of 1-2X pretty fast and this year most of it sucks and the smaller things only go to 1x  lot of the time and are also no where near my style.  I am Goth and I love dark rich colors, black and grey and nice sensuous materials.  I used to wear full length skirts because I had no choice and now if they re not super light weight I cant stand them, my style has changed to what I always wanted it to be but now I dont have money or access to the clothing I want.

Oh well I could be bitching because nothing fits me at a size 7X so I will stop whining and start figuring out how to make the most of what I have.

1 Comment

Filed under Altering Clothing, Clothes, Fashion After WLS, My Thoughts on WLS and Life, Plus-Size Clothing, random daily stuff, Random Thoughts, the past

One response to “SIGH..I dont miss my old body but I sure do miss my old clothes

  1. I understand completely about finding clothes that fit. Looked for several months for low rise jeans that fit but, if they fit my butt the legs were baggy or vice versa. The women in my family all have a low rise so finally asked my niece who had been losing weight if she had some that were too big for her. They fit perfectly and were a size 12. Elated. I am down to a 1-2x in tops depending on the manufacturer. Why can’t all manufacturers go by the same measurements? Now my big problem is finding a bra that fits. The implant side (mastectomy) pretty much stayed the same, the real breast did not so I have to stuff that side…Because of other health issues my window of losing post bariatric is closing rapidly and do not want to be at this weight even if it is smaller than I use to be. Didn’t see whether you said if they found the cause of your tiredness. I have EBV flare ups, narcolepsy, sleep apnea, diabetes and fibromyalgia and take drugs to keep me awake.

Leave a Reply

